TheLoneRider
a seeker in search of Easter Eggs

Country > Philippines > Cebu > Cebu City
Date > 2022 > Dec
Activity > Traveling | Lucid Thoughts

Traveling Lucid Thoughts

Yearend Reviews


2022: A Year in Review Dec 31, 2022

2022: A Year in Review

Location Google Map: Cebu City, Philippines

Summary
At the start of 2022, I was all set to leave Thailand and venture out. That didn't happen until October when Thai Immigration stopped issuing out Covid 19 visa extensions - 10 months later. But it finally happened - after 4 years in Thailand, I'm out. I always say that it's good to put the intentions out there, but don't obsess. It will eventually happen...or not. I have full faith and trust that my benevolent universe will do what's right for me when the time is right.

Here in Cebu, Philippines, my benevolent universe again assured me of its presence by paving the way for me. Abundance is here and life is relatively easy with promises looming on the horizon.


2022: A Year in Review
enjoying my cup of hot sikwate (native cocoa drink) at Moalboal's public market
Human Factor

The year started out with lingering feelings that remained after that cancel-culture attack on me by 'woke' friends who abandoned critical thinking and formed a bee hive. It was a rude awakening for me on what human nature is...not to be a cynic but simply to be aware of human dynamics. I've since become mindful of the people I allow into my sacred sphere. Anyone who nurses an unresolved life-trauma, who has a mental imbalance or emotional disturbance, I keep out of this sphere.

Peoplescape

Many people have passed through my revolving door (as I have passed through theirs). Some have come and gone, and some are here to stay, regardless where I end up.

Mike

Mikey ChongMike Singapore
As a former enforcer for the Chinese Triad in Singapore, Mike is one 'badass mutha' you don't mess around with. He is tough as nails. Consider yourself warned. But to those he likes, they'd feel safest around him. It doesn't matter that I'm no longer in Chiang Mai. Mike will always loom large for me. When shit hit the fan, when friends turned against me over a malicious lie, he was there for me - staunch and unwavering. He was always there for me. We continue to keep in touch...Christmas, birthdays, etc. I'll always be there for him too.

Mike Chong
at the train station, Mike seeing me off

Mike blogs:
  1. 2022: A Year in Review Dec 31, 2022
  2. Chiang Mai Peoplescape Oct 10, 2022
  3. Chiang Mai Peoplescape Jul 31, 2022
  4. April Chronicles 2022 Apr 30, 2022
  5. February Chronicles 2022 Feb 28, 2022
  6. 2021: A Year In Review Dec 31, 2021
  7. Chiang Mai Peoplescape Aug 31, 2021
  8. Continuing Friendships in Chiang Mai Jun 30, 2021
  9. On the Brink of Hunger, the ENABLERS Come to Light Jun 21, 2021
  10. Morphing Peoplescape of Chiang Mai May 31, 2021
  11. Coffeemates, Breadmates and Yogamates in Chiang Mai Jan-Mar 2021
  12. 2020: A Year In Review Dec 31, 2020
  13. Shifting Peoplescape Of Chiang Mai July 2020
  14. 2019: A Year in Review Dec 31, 2019
  15. Peoplescape of Chiang Mai Jan 24-Mar24, 2019
  16. Resuming Life in Chiang Mai Jan 24, 2019
  17. Overnight in Pai with Mike Jan 1, 2019
  18. 2018: A Year In Review Dec 31, 2018
  19. Peoplescape of Chiang Mai Dec 12, 2018 - Jan 1, 2019
  20. Mike Chong Aug 8, 2018
  21. Kneaded and Pampered at Zira Spa Aug 4, 2018
  22. Savoring a Baht 3,500 Birds Nest Soup at Natural Bird Nest by Burapa Aug 3, 2018
  23. Chiang Mai's Amazing Peoplescape Apr 9-23, 2016


Kris

Kristijonas KlimaitisKris Lithuania
At 26, he's a man on a rush - on a rush to make his millions, on a rush to be enlightened, and on rush to save the world. Full of idealism, he is focused, driven and kinetic. He is always full of ideas he's willing to share and equally full of questions he wants answers to.

I didn't realize that I haven't seen him since April. But we communicate not a lot, but consistently over long passages on Messenger. He defers to me (amongst many) for my views and opinion. He is one of many who shifted my thinking that even though my insight is mundane to me, it could be powerful and compelling for other seekers.

Kris Quotes

  1. We need a serious group of highly self-realised individuals who can join the ranks: Jeff Logan, Andrew Tate, yourself and Me! The coolest fucking gang on the planet to save the world.
  2. Maybe I’m Jesus
  3. If you're serious about the Lamborghini, I think you can get it quick (1-2-3 years). I know how.
  4. I’m 100% sure you can be rich. Not 99%. If you would like to get that relatively fast (up to 3y), let me know.
Mike Chong
downing some coldies at Boy Blues Bar with Kris

Kris blogs:
  1. 2023: A Year in Review Dec 31, 2023
  2. Kris Visits Siquijor Mar 17 - Apr 15, 2023
  3. 2022: A Year in Review Dec 31, 2022
  4. Peoplescape Mar 31, 2022
  5. Pizza Nite with Kevin, Jamie and Kris Mar 10, 2022
  6. Pizza Nite with Kris, Simona and Mary Feb 15, 2022
  7. ABS Fitness Challenge Jan 16 - Apr 16, 2022
  8. Welcoming the New Year Jan 31, 2022


Simona

simona_andorfiSimona Germany
I haven't seen Simona since I left Chiang Mai, but every once in a while, we still keep in touch. She was a friend who wasn't swayed by the bee hive that swarmed against me. She stood her ground while maintaining her peace with everyone else. She's been a part of my Pizza Nites, Moka Coffee gathering, yoga and just plain chillouts.

Mike Chong

Simona blogs:
  1. 2022: A Year in Review Dec 31, 2022
  2. Chiang Mai Peoplescape Oct 10, 2022
  3. Pizza Nite with Kris, Simona and Mary Feb 15, 2022
  4. Welcoming the New Year Jan 31, 2022
  5. Pizza Nite with Simona and Lisa Dec 28, 2021
  6. Pizza Nite with Nut, Simona and Malee Sep 23, 2021
  7. Chiang Mai Peoplescape Aug 31, 2021
  8. Pizza Brunch with the Yogis July 1, 2021
  9. Continuing Friendships in Chiang Mai Jun 30, 2021


Tom & Chunyah

Tom and Chunyah Tom USA & Chunyah Thailand
What lovely couple! I met Tom early on when he arrived in Chiang Mai...attended his yoga class as he attended mine. I was there during the early days when he and Chunyah got together. As a couple, they attended my Pizza Nites, ice baths, yoga and Moka Coffee gatherings. I was there on Tom's 2 Muay Thai fights (which he both won). One day, I'm sure to see them again, that time with their bundle of joy, Gaewalyn.

Tom and Chunyah
at My Moka Coffee with Tom and Chunyah

Tom blogs:
  1. 2022: A Year in Review Dec 31, 2022
  2. Chiang Mai Peoplescape Oct 10, 2022
  3. Yoga Nidra with Chunyah and Tom Aug 18, 2022
  4. Chiang Mai Peoplescape Jul 31, 2022
  5. Tom Maher's Muay Thai Fight Apr 8, 2022
  6. Pizza Nite with Tom, Chunyah and Goi Aug 20, 2021
  7. Morphing Peoplescape of Chiang Mai May 31, 2021


Chunyah blogs:
  1. 2022: A Year in Review Dec 31, 2022
  2. Chiang Mai Peoplescape Oct 10, 2022
  3. Yoga Nidra with Chunyah and Tom Aug 18, 2022
  4. Chiang Mai Peoplescape Jul 31, 2022
  5. Pizza Nite with Tom, Chunyah and Goi Aug 20, 2021


Mikko

Michael PatoMikko Pato Philippines
Hostel Seven Cebu Hostel Seven Cebu
I've said a lot already about Mikko even though I'm only getting to know him during this brief visit. But the more I hang out with him, the more I appreciate him. Loved by many, envied by a few, ladies are impressed by him and guys just wanna buy him beer. He looms bigger than life...at least in the context of Cebu. He is an amalgamation of James Bond (flamboyant, suave, debonair, a lady's man and a man's man), Warren Buffett (for being generous, bordering on magnanimous), Lionel Messi (an all-around athlete...marathon, cycling, football, boxing) and Anthony Bourdain (although eclipsed by his athleticism, he is more than competent in the kitchen). He plays hard, lives hard and pushes the boundaries while disarming you with his charm.

On a personal level, I would rank him on my top 3 of people I hold dear to me...because they all went beyond the call of money to make life easier for me. I don't forget kindness and I find ways to say 'thank you'...but in my currency as I don't have money.

Mikko Pato
Mikko showing me how Pochero is done

Mikko blogs:
  1. Cebu City for the Siddhi Workshop Feb 2-5, 2024
  2. 2023: A Year in Review Dec 31, 2023
  3. 2022: A Year in Review Dec 31, 2022
  4. Cebu City Peoplescape Dec 4, 2022
  5. 5 Nights in Cebu City at Hostel Seven Cebu Sep 2-7, 2017


Marky

Marky MaligmatMarky Philippines
Marky is one of Cebu's saving grace for me. We got to know each other almost by default (since no one showed up at the Theosophical Soceity meeting except him and me, so we ended up talking). Unassuming, mostly silent but always alert and observing, Marky is reliable and gets things done. He's solid. I've always thought that if I were a man of means, I would like to have a 'Gigit' (in the same way that men of means*** are happy to have me within their orbit even if it's just my presence). Marky comes closest to that.

Marky Maligmat
Marky with Wolf at Hostel 7 Cebu

men of means***
These are people who already have an uncanny ability to make money - but they're short of people who have all these abilites - people who can be trusted, who can make things happen, who are reliable, and who will look after their interest, especially when they're not around. Since they have means, it makes no difference to them if I benefit from their largese without realizing their ROI - they just want me around their orbit. Not every 'men of means' get this - as most are bogged down by nickels and dime. So yes, should I become a man of means, I would also like to have a Gigit - modesty aside.

Blogs about Marky
  1. Cebu City for the Siddhi Workshop Feb 2-5, 2024
  2. 2023: A Year in Review Dec 31, 2023
  3. Exploring Siquijor with Marky Mar 25 - Apr 11, 2023
  4. 2022: A Year in Review Dec 31, 2022
  5. Cebu City Peoplescape Dec 4, 2022


Personal Guru

To learn more about people who have broken boundaries in their pursuit of perfection, I made efforts to view podcasts of renegade thinkers, books by illuminated sages, or lectures by wise men, whether it be spiritual, life-hack or neo-science. This gave me a sense of a personal guru...the best of the best, without having to seek audience for it. They're not accessible to me anyway, and if they are, I probably cannot afford them. My gratitude to Joe Rogan, Jiddu Krishnamurti, Moran Cerf, and Donald Hoffman for sharing their wisdom and life experience. Since September, I had been synthesizing Hatha Yoga Pradipika and adapting my practice accordingly.

Series: Renegade Thinkers


Covid-19

The pressure was high in getting jabbed. It was a roller coaster ride - things would ease up and normalcy would inch its way back in, then a new variant, Omicron, appeared from nowhere and slammed the door to normalcy. 3rd shots were required. Believers were polarized against the conspiracy-theorists. Families were divided. Friendships were tested. It was a disruptive time. Society was fragmented. Opinions were best kept inside or they might add gasoline to a raging fire. Everything was volatile. The year ended quietly despite the Monkey Pox variant. Travel restrictions were eased. Covid-19 visa extensions were no longer given so in October, I had to leave Thailand and start life from scratch in the Philippines.

COVID 19 Blogs


Kitchen Un-Confidential

I continued my kitchen adventure as a culinary alchemist with my Pumpkin Tahini, Carrot Cake, Coconut Bread and Coconut Pancake. Even though I didn't have a stove in Chiang Mai, I had 2 fully functioning industrial ovens. It's a little different now in Cebu where I only have access to a water kettle for my Vietnamese coffee.

Yoga and Fitness

In keeping with my fitness program, I resurrected the ABS-Fitness Challenge. In a braggadocio way, ABS has been my trademark. I continued to deepen my yoga as I continued to teach it in innovative ways that make sense to me.

It pays that I am the embodiment of my practice so I don't have to convince people that my brand of yoga works. For a guy my age, I remain strong, disease-free and somehow remaining young while keeping harmony with my world - and that's very transparent. It's my day-to-day life, but people unfamiliar to this state-of-being are curious, motivated and nudged to try it.

Also by teaching it, I am inspired to dig deeper into the subject - and knowing them by heart. I can almost recite the yama and niyama, the chakras, mudras, perform the many powerful permutations of pranayama.

Ice Bath

Another practice I've embraced and conducted is the ice bath. I subscribe to its many benefits. Yoga and ice bath are 2 sides of the coin in my practice. I've attended ice baths by Jason, conducted my own classes at Alt_Chiang Mai and at my hotel, Nawa Saraan. I've formed a community with my weekly icebath where we gather at My Moka Coffee for socials after the bath. It was a wholesome and vibrant community with regulars and fly-bys.

ICEBATH Series


Pizza Nite

I think I'm unique by being identified by my Pizza Nites. It's a tradition I began in Canada and somehow carried with me along my travels. It's always fun - I invite select friends to gather and make their own pizza from their own ingredients. We take individual turns baking it and we all share the pizza. Some bring wine and share that as well. It's fortunate that in my hotel, I had 2 industrial-sized ovens to get the job done.

Anywhere I end up, if I have access to an oven, a Pizza Nite will inevitably happen.

Pizza Nite [an error occurred while processing this directive]
Thailand     Canada

Pizza Nites (Thailand)

What is Pizza Nite?

Location Google Map: Nawa Saraan Hotel, Chiang Mai

Pizza Nite is a gathering of FOUR (4) friends (me included) for pizza-making. Why only 4? Because if bigger than 4, I get stressed! It can be anytime during the day or evening (not just 'nite'). Everyone makes their special pizza for sharing. We will all be assembling our own pizza together. 4 people, 4 pizzas. 2 pizzas at a time will be baked. When we are finished, the next 2 pizzas will be baked - this way, the pizza will always be hot.

  1. pizza ingredients - everyone brings everything they need to make their pizza - dough, sauce, cheese, toppings, etc. Please have everything already cut-up at home, so we save time and only assembly is needed. You can take home whatever ingredients you didn't use or donate it to the next Pizza Nite group.
  2. diet restrictions - please state your diet restriction. Since we are sharing our pizza with everyone, let's all make pizza everyone can eat. One way to do this is make imaginary lines on the pizza (4 slices) and assign a slice to a particaular person (eg - for the vegetarian, don't put meat on that slice but put meat on the other three slices)
  3. drinks - everyone brings their own drinks. But if you feel like sharing your wine or beer with everyone, then cheers to you!
  4. clean up - if everyone helps out in cleaning up, I will remember you in my prayers (and keep you in the short list)
How to make pizza dough

Pizza Dough

Three ways to bring your pizza dough to Pizza Nite:
  1. buy uncooked pizza dough from a pizza joint (easy and fun)
  2. buy a ready-made cooked pizza crust from the grocery (easy but not fun)
  3. make your own pizza dough from scratch, as follows: (challenging and most fun)

    Ingredients:

    • 3 1/2 cups flour
    • 1 cup warm water (between 85° and 115° F)
    • 2 tbsp yeast (I like my dough a little yeasty. You can use less)
    • 2 tbsp sugar or honey (I use Muscovado sugar)
    • 1/4 cup olive oil
    • 1/2 tsp salt

    Preparation:

    1. Making the sponge/poolish
      Mix water, sugar, yeast and 1 cup regular flour in a bowl. Cover until it starts to bubble (first rising, around 45 mins). This can now be used. However, if you want a more flavorful pizza dough, keep this covered in the fridge overnight or a full 24 hours.
    2. Kneading
      Mix the rest of the ingredients (flour, salt and oil) and start kneading (tip: press on with your body weight, not just your arm power). The dough should be soft without being sticky. Too sticky, add flour. Too hard, add water. You're done when the dough bounces back when you poke your finger onto it. Cover until double in size (2nd rising, around 45 mins).
    3. Scaling and shaping
      Punch the dough to take the air out. You can cut it up and use only what you need. You can cut it up into 3 and shape them into balls - one of those balls should be good to make one 13" regular pizza. You can freeze the 2. Flatten one ball into a circular shape. I usually flatten it on the same tray I will bake on so I don't have to make a transfer - I just apply a little oil on the tray before flattening. Using both hands, one on top of the other, press from the center outwards to stretch it in all directions. You can flatten it more by using a rolling pin (or wine bottle). Take a fork and put puncture holes all over the dough to keep it from bubbling up while cooking (which also holds the sauce in place). Wait until double in size (3rd and last rising).
    4. the dough is now ready for baking

For a more complicated pizza dough but much better, here's a video by Vito Iacopelli

How to make pizza sauce

Pizza Sauce

Two ways to bring your pizza sauce to Pizza Nite:
  1. buy a ready-made pizza sauce from a pizza resto or from the grocery
  2. make your own pizza sauce from scratch, as follows: (challenging and most fun)

    Basic Pizza Sauce

    Ingredients:

    1. ripe fresh tomatoes (use just enough for sauce consistency)
    2. fresh peeled crushed garlic (according to taste)
    3. bunch of fresh basil (in Thailand, there are 3 types...use the sweet basil with green stem, not purple) or oregano
    4. 1 small can, tomato paste (great thickener and holds the sauce together)
    5. teaspoon of sugar (not to sweeten, but to reduce acidity)
    6. pinch of salt
    7. fresh ground pepper
    8. generous amount of olive oil (quarter cup? really, up to you for consistency)

    Preparation:

    1. puree the fresh tomatoes in a blender and strain on a sieve. Keep the liquid and the pulp.
    2. combine basil leaves, garlic and the tomato liquid in a blender and liquify. Transfer all to a pot and heat up. Remove immediately the moment it boils. Strain the liquid and discard the pulp
    3. add the liquid, sugar, the tomato pulp, salt, pepper and tomato paste in a blender and puree again
    4. on slowest blender setting, start pouring small amount of olive oil into the sauce until well blended. Adding oil last prevents the oil from separating
    5. sauce is ready. Pack in serving size containers and freeze
Pizza Nite Blogs


Music Scene

Now that I'm back in the Philippines, I miss Chiang Mai's music scene where weekly Blues music is just there for the taking - Boy Blues Bar, My Secret Cafe, Northgate Jazz Coop, My Bar, Paapu House, etc. Despite Cebu being the Queen City of the South and the 2nd biggest city in the Philippines, Blues music is a rarity. Cebuanos are great musicians, there is no question about that, but Blues is not on the radar. Besides, live music is not cheap in the Philippines.

Money

Throughout 2022, money was just hovering between near-depletion to almost depleted. It's just a sign of the universe for me - that it's hovering above me. It's a repeating pattern I've seen so many times that the scarcity of money doesn't worry me anymore. Had I left Thailand early on in the year, I would have done so with just $100 - seriously! But somehow in mid year, I've had many classes from many students paying me my full rate (I learned painfully that it doesn't pay to teach free yoga...or to give valuable anything for free). The classes eventually stopped, but I already saved enough money for travel to the Philippines.

And this is what I mean about my universe finding a way to see me through when the time is right.

Bangkok

(Oct 11-13, 2022) After leaving Chiang Mai, all I wanted was to reach the Philippines fast and settle down for a new life. Still, I thought it was a good idea to spend 3 nights in Bangkok before I finally kiss Thailand goodbye. Being out of Chiang Mai rekindled my instinct for traveling - thinking fast, thinking processes through, acting quick and ensuring my bases were covered. It was good to have that juice still flowing.

Cebu City

(Oct 13, 2022 - Jan 9, 2023) Cebu has been awesome! Big thanks to Mikko for making it happen. Without him, it would have been just another place.

I tried my best to make a new life upon arrival. During my short stint in Cebu, I held 2 yoga talks, 2 ice baths, conducted an advanced Pranayama class, moderated a Theosophical Society meet up, and snorkeled at Moalboal and Mactan. On the horizon, I had project plans with Mikko for a Pecha Kucha night and a Pizza Nite.

But despite the abundance, I felt the need to move on. Every passing day, no matter how much I tried to be productive, felt like ground hog day - a repetition of the day before. After 3 months in Cebu, it became clear I had to leave - despite the deepening friendship I had with Mikko, Kobe, Maiko, Marky, etc., despite having more cash than usual, despite the free stay at Hostel 7 Cebu and despite a shaman telling me my place is Cebu. But for where?

Ending Thoughts
I guess the biggest thing that happened to me in 2022 was leaving Thailand after nearly 4 years in residency. It felt bitter-sweet. On one hand, Chiang Mai never felt the same after the Cancel Culture attack on me by wolves in 'friend clothing' so it was a relief to have a change in scene. On the other hand, I love Chiang Mai and I miss its wonderful offerings. The last 2.5 months in Cebu was about adjusting back to being in the Philippines, finding a place that resonates, getting my bearings and perhaps getting settled.

So, 2023 is all about the NEW chapter...crossing my fingers.

--- Gigit (TheLoneRider)
YOGA by Gigit Yoga by Gigit | Learn English Learn English | Travel like a Nomad Nomad Travel Buddy | Donation Bank Donation Bank for TheLoneRider



Leave a comment?


Reader Comments:

Kristijonas KlimaitisKris Lithuania
(Dec 26, 2022) I wanted to keep this for the end of the year, but I'll express it right now — this year I'm very grateful having met you. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, wisdom and the blog entries. It's a huge blessing for me and I cherish our friendship a lot!

As of your blog, reading it sometimes feels like having cheat codes for life 🙂 Because you already thought deeply about many topics that I'm trying to figure out and in many ways I know which direction to go / what resources to learn from.

Of course, it's just for orientation, I still need to do the work / embody the learnings. But just pointing me in the right direction I think already saved me some years of needless suffering for me (or at at least I think that way).

Ok I'm not gonna make this into an essay lol so I'll just stop right here. Again, thanksss!! 🙏

Next Traveling story:

Siquijor: In Search of Resonance Traveling

Siquijor: In Search of Resonance

(Jan 9-14, 2023) After 3 months in Cebu City, despite the Shaman who advised me to settle in Cebu, I felt the need to move on in search of a place that resonates. Next stop? Siquijor!..more »»

Next Lucid Thought:

Consciousness Creates Reality? Quantum Mechanics Lucid Thoughts

Consciousness Creates Reality?

(Mar 6, 2023) The more I desire an outcome, the increased likelihood it will happen. And it has, on so many occassions. I'm drawn to conclude that consciousness influences the way reality unravels. But what if we kick it up a notch? What if consciousness actually creates reality?..more »»

Year-End Review Blogs:

More on Cebu City:

About Cebu City
  • Cebu City is the 2nd biggest city in the Philippine (next to Manila) - and it continues to build and expand. Traffic is getting bad. Decentralization is being developed with the SM Super Mall in the SRP south and the suburban towns in the north.
  • Boat from the airport to the city center - even without traffic, it takes about 4 rides to reach the city. But with Cebu's increasing traffic congestion, it has become a nightmare. Instead of taking the land route, take the water route - no traffic, fresher air and cheaper. From the airport, take the yellow multi-cab straight to the river port and take the ferry (there's only one destination) to the city. Take the 02B jeep and get off at UC near Jones - you're now on the city's main artery.
  • given its size and increasing congestion, Cebu really needs a mass railway system - something that is conspicuously lacking, but no one seems to complain about
  • Cebu is bursting at the seams on the yoga scene. There are about 20 yoga centers in the city - from yoga studios to gyms offering yoga and hotels jumping on the bandwagon
  • a trendy and safe place in Cebu where you can chillout for coffee and enjoy good eats would be at the Ayala Mall
  • there are other pocket-areas for trendy hangouts - Banila Town Center, Crossroads, Escario Plaza, La Vie, etc.
  • the tourist area where most of the budget hotels and restaurants are, are located within the Mango area, although it has a seedy belly feel. Kids may swarm on you pretending to be begging, but they could be picking your pocket or your backpack pockets - be careful
  • many pick-pockets in the Colon area - be careful
Cebu City Google Map

Google Map Cebu City, Philippines

tourist attractions in Cebu City tourist attractions
  • Tops in Cebu City Tops - hilltop offering panoramic view of the city
  • Taoist Temple in Cebu City Taoist Temple - temple on a hillslope in Lahug with panoramic view of the city
hotels in Cebu City hotel
  • Hostel Seven Cebu - newly opened, resto/bar, central location, solo/group travellers
    Juana Osmeña Street, Cebu City
  • S Hotel Cebu S Hotel & Residences - new hotel, luxury rooms, central location
    827 M. Velez corner Andres Abellana St.
cafes in Cebu City resto / cafe / bar
  • Fujinoya Fujinoya - new and refreshing twists to Western style desserts using Japanese techniques
    Wilson St., Lahug, Cebu City - tel. 888.6075
  • Bad Boys Wingz Bad Boys Wingz - Buffalo Wings, unique versions of sauces! Great service, accommodating staff, bad boys vibe
    Kasambagan, Cebu City | (032) 415 4811
yoga in Cebu City yoga
  • Love Yoga World Love Yoga World - yoga studio
    11/fl, Skyrise 2 Tower, IT Park, Lahug, Cebu City
  • Yoga Now Yoga Now - first Yoga and Wellness studio in Mactan offering daily Yoga Classes
    at The Yacht Club Mactan
mountain biking in Cebu City mountain biking
  • Cebu Mountain Bike Adventure Cebu Mountain Bike Adventure - MTB tours, bike sales and repairs. Bed and Breakfast + Resto Cafe + wifi
    1298-b V.Rama Ave, Guadalupe, Cebu City | 0942.959.7451
Cebu City to Camotes Island

Cebu City to Camotes Islands

  1. via Poro - from Pier One in Cebu City, take the Ocean Jet for Poro, 2 hours, daily trip - 6am and 3pm (0936.823.8762 |0956.270.6610 | 0999.889.9999).
  2. via Consuelo - from Cebu City, take the northbound bus passing through Danao and get off at the Danao Port. At the Port, take a Jomalia Shipping boat for Consuelo (San Francisco, Camotes), P220/pax, a/c, 2 hours, daily trip - 5:30am, 7:00am (special trip), 8:30am, 12:00 noon (express), 2:30pm, 5:30pm and 9:00pm (express, Fri/Sat/Sun only).

Camotes Islands to Cebu City

  1. Poro - Cebu City (fastest and most direct) - go to Poro and take the 8am or 5pm Ocean Jet to Pier One in Cebu City, P380/pax/aircon, 2 hours
  2. Consuelo - Danao - Cebu City - go to Consuelo (San Francisco) and take the Jomalia Shipping boat to Danao, P220/pax, a/c, 2 hours, daily trip - 5:30am, 7:00am (special trip), 8:30am, 12:00 noon (express), 2:30pm, 5:30pm and 9:00pm (express, Fri/Sat/Sun only). From Danao, take the Ceres Bus to Cebu City
Cebu City to Dumaguete

Cebu City to Dumaguete by Boat

  1. George and Peter Lines - Mon/Thur/Sat/Sun 10pm, (035)225.4337, 0922.557.1023
  2. Oceanjet - via Tagbilaran, daily 6am, dumticketing@oceanjet.net, 0918.898.2188
  3. Cokaliong - Mon/Tue/Wed/Thur/Fri/Sat 7pm, Sun 12pm, 6 hours, (035)225.3599

Cebu City to Dumaguete via Liloan (bus, boat, jeep, tricycle)

  1. Cebu City South Terminal - take the southbound Ceres bus to Liloan, P200, 5 hours
  2. Liloan - the bus drops you off at the Liloan Port where you board the Fastcraft to Sibulan, Negros Oriental, P62, 30 mins
  3. Sibulan - at the Sibulan Port, the jeeps wait for Fastcraft passengers to take them to the public market in Dumaguete, P12, 30 mins.
  4. Public Market - at the market, you can take any tricycle to your hotel, P8 for short trips
Cebu City to Tagbilaran, Bohol

Cebu City to Tagbilaran, Bohol

  1. Weesam Express - Pier 4, departs 9:00 AM, 2:00 PM, 6:30 PM, 2 hours
    one way: Economy (aircon) P500.00, Economy (non-aircon) P400.00, First Class P600.00
    round trip promo (at least 2 days advance booking): Economy (aircon) P600, Economy(non-aircon) P500, First Class P1200
    round trip promo (1 day or on the day booking): Economy (aircon) P800, Economy (non-aircon) P700, First Class P1200
  2. Ocean Jet - Pier 1, departs 6-7-8-9:20-10:40-11:40AM, 1-2-4:20-6:35PM, 2 hours
    Open Air / Tourist Class P800, Business Class P1000
    +63 932 8734 885 / +63 922 8572 300
  3. SuperCat (2GO) - Pier 1, departs 08:15-13:30-15:10-18:00-19:40
    P 500.00
    +63 32 233 7000
  4. Lite Ferries - Pier 1, departs daily 12:30pm, 10:00pm and 1:00pm (Mon, Wed, Sat)
    Standard (Lying) Php 150, Tourist (Lying Aircon) Php 340
    +63 977.822.5483 / +63 998.999.5483 / +63 925.347.5483 / (032)255-1721 to 26 / (032)414-9001 to 03
    info@liteferries.com.ph / www.liteferry.com
Cebu City to Siquijor by Boat, via Tagbilaran

Cebu City to Siquijor, via Tagbilaran

  1. Lite Ferries - Pier 1, departs M/W/SAT at 1:00pm, 10 hours, economy Php 649 (through barkota.com), layover in Tagbilaran 5:45pm-8:00pm, arrives Larena Port, Siquijor at 11:00pm
    +63 977.822.5483 / +63 998.999.5483 / +63 925.347.5483 / (032)255-1721 to 26 / (032)414-9001 to 03
    info@liteferries.com / www.liteferry.com
  2. Ocean Jet - Pier 1, departs daily at 1pm, 5 hours
    Open Air P1600
    +63 932 8734 885 / +63 922 8572 300


Cebu City to Siquijor by Bus, via Liloan (Santander) (as of Jan 2023)

Sugbo Urban
There is only one bus plying this route - Sugbo Urban. Tourist class coach, a/c, comfortable, Sun-Fri (these dates keep changing). P420 for bus, P275 for ferry to Liloan. Leaves Cebu City (South Bus Terminal) at 8 pm (Sundays 1 am), heads south to Liloan (Santander), takes the ferry to Larena Port, Siquijor, docks around 5 am, makes a clockwise roundtrip around Siquijor Island - Larena, Enrique Villanueva, Maria, Lazi (stops at Lazi market for breakfast and leaves 6:50 am), San Juan, Siquijor (arrives 8am, P50 from Lazi to Siquijor Poblacion) and catches the 1pm ferry at Larena Port for Liloan, Cebu and resumes its land route. Arrives Cebu City 10 pm.

Sugbo Urban is the cheapest and most convenient way because when it reaches Larena Port (Siquijor), it continues its trip around the island (clockwise) along the circumferential road, passing through - Enrique Villanueva, Maria, Lazi, San Juan, Siquijor...and back to Larena. It spares you the cost of hiring a tricycle or habal-habal which charges exhorbitant fares. Besides, it's a long trip to the other side of the island to be taking by tricycle.


Sugbo Urban

Sugbo Urban


Blogs Cebu Blogs
Cebu City CEBU CITY

2024

  • Siddhi-Activation Workshop Feb 4 - Mar , 2024
  • Cebu City for the Siddhi Workshop Feb 2-5, 2024
  • 2022

  • 2022: A Year in Review Dec 31, 2022
  • Dec Snapshots Dec 31, 2022
  • UP-Ateneo-La Salle Talk Dec 30, 2022
  • Smart Politics Dec 29, 2022
  • Dawata Yoga Studio Celebrates 1st Anniversary Dec 28, 2022
  • Icebath 2 at Hostel 7 Cebu Dec 17, 2022
  • Snorkeling in Mactan with Mikko's Merry Band Dec 11, 2022
  • Life-Hacking Using Yogic Principles at Dawata Yoga Studio Dec 9, 2022
  • Cebu City Peoplescape Dec 4, 2022
  • Fitness in Cebu Oct 3 - Dec 4, 2022
  • Food in Cebu Dec 4, 2022
  • Nov Snapshots Nov 30, 2022
  • Pranayama for Mikko's Marathon Nov 27, 2022
  • Moderating the Theosophical Society Meeting with Yoga of Emotions Nov 26, 2022
  • Yoga with Jason Nov 23, 2022
  • Yoga Classes in Cebu Nov 23, 2022
  • Life-Hacking Using Yogic Principles at Hostel 7 Cebu Nov 19, 2022
  • Icebath at Hostel 7 Cebu Nov 12, 2022
  • Underwear Talk Nov 9, 2022
  • October Snapshots Oct 31, 2022
  • TOPS Farewell Party Oct 21, 2022
  • Cebu City Base: Hostel 7 Cebu Oct 13 - Dec 4, 2022
  • Manila - Cebu City: from Touch-down to my Hotel Oct 13, 2022
  • 2017

  • 5 Nights in Cebu City at Hostel Seven Cebu Sep 2-7, 2017
  • Karma Yoga at S Hotel, Cebu Jul 5-7, 2017
  • Life Coaching for a Competition Dancer Jul 5, 2017
  • Back to Cebu: Life Coaching and Jeanne Jul 3-10, 2017
  • Thank You Cebu Jun 12, 2017
  • Lazarus Jun 12, 2017
  • Palm Grass Hotel Food Tasting Jun 10, 2017
  • Qube Gallery's Ako Si Sabel / Balay-Balay Art Exhibit Jun 8, 2017
  • Ambushed By SM Seaside Jun 1, 2017
  • Cebu Living May 4-31, 2017
  • Conducting Yoga, Pranayama and Meditation Classes in Cebu May 26, 2017
  • Rangoli Workshop with Yasha Dabas May 26, 2017
  • Rosti with Fish Fillet on Tomato Puree May 17, 2017
  • Downhill Riding with Cebu MTB Adventure May 13, 2017
  • Healing Yoga by Nonie Fernando at The Detox Bar May 12, 2017
  • Be-In Gathering at Jeanne's May 9, 2017
  • Detox Bar Lunch May 9, 2017
  • Barakki May 7, 2017
  • Ashtanga Primary Series Yoga in Cebu May 5, 2017
  • 3-Night Cebu Stopover Apr 6-9, 2017
  • Coming Back to Cebu City Jan 27-Feb 6, 2017
  • Celebrating Friendship in Cebu City Jan 27-Feb 6, 2017
  • 2015

  • Goodbye Cebu...Daghang Salamat! Dec 20, 2015
  • Into the Realm of Jiu-jitsu Dec 5, 2015
  • Vegetarian Food at Cherry's the SPICE Nov 21, 2015
  • Shadow Fragments by Leopoldo Aguilar at Qube Gallery Nov 17, 2015
  • Yoga Adjustment and Alignment Nov 11, 2015
  • Smoked Salmon-Belly Pizza on BBQ Sauce Nov 8, 2015
  • Meditation Basics Nov 7, 2015
  • Pilipino Time Oct 30, 2015
  • The Benevolent Cebu City Oct 28, 2015
  • Vegetarian Cooking Demo with Chef Sharon at Studio 108 Oct 24, 2015
  • Yogathering 2 Oct 3-4, 2015
  • Lalique and the Lily's Peanut Butter Glass Jar Sep 12, 2015
  • Re-purposing a Broken Umbrella Aug 27, 2015
  • Body Combat Aerobic Workout Sequence Aug 24, 2015
  • Handstand Clinic at Surya Nanda Yoga Studio Aug 23, 2015
  • Stopping Time Aug 5, 2015
  • Peoplescape and Synergy Jul 19, 2015
  • Abaca Baking Company Jul 17, 2015
  • Getting Deeper into Yoga Jul 12, 2015
  • Cebu Yoga at Studio 108 Jun 30, 2015
  • Back to Surya Nanda Yoga, Cebu Jun 18-28, 2015
  • 2014

  • Thank You Cebu, til the Next Time Oct 21, 2013 - May 15, 2014
  • Teaching Yoga May 9, 2014
  • Yoga Dance with Jaya Indra at Dragonfly Yoga Studio May 9, 2014
  • Aqua Yoga with Jeanne Torrefranca at Dragonfly Pool May 4, 2014
  • i-Yoga with Ayee Domingo at Dragonfly Yoga Studio Apr 27, 2014
  • Burning Man on PechaKucha Night at GILT, Cebu Apr 22, 2014
  • Leveling Up: Veer-Yoga with the YogiVeers Apr 11, 2014
  • Kundalini Yoga with Rebecca Youngdahl Lombardi Mar 28, 2014
  • SUP Yoga with Jeanne Torrefranca at Plantation Bay Mar 23, 2014
  • Kitchie Nadal Rocks Cebu City Mar 20-21, 2014
  • U Trade Hosts Online Trading Forum with Tony Herbosa and Roy Reyes Mar 6, 2014
  • Test Driving the 420D BMW Coupe Mar 6, 2014
  • Yoga Immersion with Veer (Vaibhav Rana) Mar 5, 2014
  • Pechakucha Mar 4, 2014
  • Jeanne's Community Outreach Program Mar 2, 2014
  • U Trade's Coming Out Party Feb 27, 2014
  • La Creperie Paris Opens its Doors in Cebu City Feb 22, 2014
  • Cebu Hiatus Feb 22, 2014
  • Joan Hyman Yoga Workshop by YogaHub Feb 18, 2014
  • Idiot on a Jet Plane Feb 15, 2014
  • Demystefying Ashtanga Yoga Feb 13, 2014
  • Abundance in Cebu (Part 2) Feb 11, 2014
  • Shifting Yoga Paradigm Feb 10, 2014
  • Gayatri Mantra Jan 21, 2014
  • Crossroads in Cebu Jan 20, 2014
  • Deepening My Yoga Practice in Cebu Jan 12, 2014
  • New Year Yoga at Dragonfly Yoga Studio Jan 1, 2014
  • Fab People: Vaibhav Rana (Veer) Jan 1, 2014
  • 2013

  • Fab People: Jeanne Torrefranca (Yogini) Dec 25, 2013
  • Coffee Review: Himalayan Java Coffee Dec. 18, 2013
  • YogaHub - Real People, Real Yoga Dec 18, 2013
  • 108 Sun Salutations for Typhoon Yolanda Victims Dec 15, 2013
  • 2-day Yoga Mountain Retreat at Rancho Cancio Nov 30 - Dec 1, 2013
  • Cebu Yoga Immersion Nov 14, 2013
  • Human Neti Pot Oct 23, 2013
  • Car-Talk Cebu City Style Oct 23, 2013
  • 2012

  • Back to Cebu for the Web Workshop Oct 3-18, 2012
  • Abundance in Cebu Jul 19, 2012
  • Theosophical Buffet Breakfast at Parklane Hotel July 15, 2012
  • Parklane Hotel Talk Jul 2, 2012
  • Seekers' Lair Jun 25, 2012
  • Yoga at Cordova Reef, Cebu Beach Resort May 6-7, 2012
  • Vipassana Meditation Course Part 4: Getting Established in the Technique (sit) Apr 25 - May 6, 2012

  • More on Cebu Province:

    Suggested Destinations in Cebu
    1. Camotes Islands - caves, beaches
    2. Cebu City - rich in culture and history, 2nd largest city in the Philippines
    3. Moalboal - amazing coral reef system, sardine bowl, deep drop-off for freediving
    4. Oslob - Butanding (whale shark) watching
    5. Bantayan Island - long stretch of fine white sand beach, Virgin Island for snorkeling
    6. Malapascua Island - divers' paradise for seeing the rare Thresher Shark
    7. Cantabaco Cave - Toledo
    8. Barile Waterfalls - Barile
    9. Whale Shark Tour - Oslob
    10. Carcar - chicharon and lechon in public market
    Currency Converter
    Currency Converter

    »» back to Traveling
    »» back to Homepage

    ARCHIVE: 2024 | JAN | FEB

    1970 | 1973 | 1975 | 1976 | 1979 | 1981 | 1996 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021 | 2022 | 2023 | 2024 | ALL BLOGS